Plansee: the first day of snow

“How did it happen that their lips came together?
How does it happen that birds sing, that snow melts, that the rose unfolds, that the dawn whitens behind the stark shapes of trees on the quivering summit of the hill?

A kiss, and all was said.”

Victor Hugo

 

Yesterday was the first day of snow, my favorite day of the year. And so I decided to leave early this Sunday and to go to Plansee, a beautiful lake in Austria. Like usual on the first day of snow, I went out into it, letting the falling snowflakes fall against my skin. In the meadows of the sky I could see thousands of them making their way to earth. I could feel the pull of winter in the air.  I fell in love with the winter long time ago. In Rome snow is definitely not a common event and I cannot forget what happened when I was 10 years old. It was the epiphany day, I woke up, looked out of the window and everything was white and so was for nearly one week. We didn´t go to school, we had longer Christmas holidays playing with this white magic thing. It was then that my love for snow started. Now everytime it snows,  it always brings me back to my childhood and the older we get the more we realize that being a kid is actually the most magical time of our lives. I put my nose behind the window and can spend hours watching snowfall. It makes me so relaxed! There is a kind of warmth in winter coldness.  It has a particular way of painting and hugging the land and all of its human beings in a familiar embrace.  The snow makes everything more beautiful.  I feel safe under the heaviness of the clouds that carry snow. They close in around these mountain towns and create a sort of intimacy even among strangers. People run into coffee shops and buy their hot chocolate.  Fires crackle in the background of conversations.  It feels like Christmas all year long.

Finally I take the train, outside the wind is blowing and snow is falling making my train like a Transiberian running through it. I can´t avoid thinking about you meanwhile I listen to our song. I call it magic when I am next to you. My mind flies away. I wish you were here with me….

I pass Garmisch, most tourists drop out there, then Ehrwald just in front of king Zugspitze and more people leave the train. Finally I am the only human being dropping out of the train here in Heiterwang-Plansee, my final destination. It´s the second largest lake in Tyrol and it has a beautiful fjord-like landscape since it is just nestled in the heart of the Lechtal Alps and the Wetterstein and Mieminger mountain chains. The lake is characterized by outstanding water quality and its colors range from moss-green to dark black blue green.

When I leave the train noone is around, total silence, the snow is quite deep but the sky is blue again after the intense snowfall. I walk for 3-4 kms in deep snow and finally I am here contemplating mountains reflecting in the lakes. Today this spectacular gift from Nature is just for me, for noone else!

heiter 1

 

heiter 2

 

I enjoy the landscape for a while but then mother Nature reminds how fast can change her mind. Clouds cover the sky again, wind starts blowing stronger and stronger and it starts a snowstorm! I must leave this beautiful place before it gets too bad! Visibility is decreasing fast, I can barely see in front of me.

 

heiter 6n

 

heiter 3

 

heiter 4

 

This reminds me that life can be so unpredictable and you never know what is coming next. Change can come in many forms in our lives. It might come forcefully like a huge ocean wave, or coming along incrementally like a glacier. You never know and most of the time you are not ready for it.

The snowstorm is getting stronger, I run back to the station and stop in Garmisch for lunch. I have a walk in the old town under the snow and I end up in the city park inspired to Neverending Story, a famous fantasy novel written by Michael Ende. My mind goes again back to my childhood inside this park.

It´s getting dark. I go back home. It stopped snowing, I can even see the sun rays painting in red the landscape on this mountain river.

 

heiter 8

 

“Nothing is lost. Nothing is created. Everything is transformed.” Antoine Lavoisier

With Love,

Marco

6 comments

  1. scalesoflibra · November 23, 2015

    What beautiful photos and awe-inspiring setting! Your writing is so poetic, too.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marco Mecarozzi · November 23, 2015

    I am glad you appreciated my post! Nature always light up my poetic vein…

    Like

  3. Goldene verstand · November 23, 2015

    Great photos. you are a genius. Go on.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marco Mecarozzi · November 23, 2015

    Thank you!! I will go on and on! You can count on it 😉

    Like

  5. marketa03 · December 1, 2015

    Hi Marco!

    A great post and some amazing photos! Love it.

    I am also glad to have discovered a fellow Munich blogger writing about the Alps in English!

    Marketa

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Marco Mecarozzi · December 1, 2015

    Thanks a lot Marketa! I am glad to know as well there is another blogger in Munich loving nature!

    Like

Leave a Reply

